Media Centre

Changes to the Board

Shareholders are hereby advised, in compliance with paragraph 3.59 of the Listings Requirements

of the JSE Limited, of the following changes to the Board of Directors (Board), with immediate effect.

As announced on 8 March 2018, three independent director vacancies were created following the
retirement of the following non-executive directors at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of 24 May 2018:

  • Dr D (Len) Konar
  • Dr CJ (Con) Fauconnier and
  • Mr S (Saleh) Mayet

The Board, once again expresses its sincere appreciation to the above individuals for their dedication, service, invaluable contribution to the business and commitment during their tenure.

Therefore, following an extensive process of searching for replacement members, the Board has nominated and extends a warm welcome to:

  • Ms Geraldine Joslyn Fraser-Moleketi: She is a fellow of the Institute of Politics, Kennedy School of Government, at Harvard University, and has completed a leadership course at Wharton Business School at the University of Pennsylvania. Geraldine holds a master’s degree in Administration, University of Pretoria, and has received several awards including the OP Dwivedi public service award from the International Association of Schools and Institutes of Public Administration and a special award for outstanding achievement from University of Pretoria’s School of public management and administration. She is Chancellor of the Nelson Mandela University. She also serves as a non executive director on the Board of Standard Bank Group as well as Standard Bank South Africa.
  • Mr Mark Moffett: He is a Chartered Accountant SA with more than five years of public company board exposure and over 25 years of financial and commercial experience in the mining industry with a number of the leading global mining companies. He has held a variety of senior financial positions, both operational and corporate and in a number of different countries, with Anglo American, De Beers and as CFO of Xstrata Alloys and subsequently as Group Controller of Xstrata. Following completion of the merger between Xstrata and Glencore, he returned to South Africa to become involved in driving sustainable transformation within the RSA mining sector. He currently serves as an independent NED of Royal Bafokeng Platinum and a member of their audit committee.
  • Mr Lenamile Isaac Mphatlane: He is the co-founder, shareholder and a director of the Randvest Group, its core focus is leveraged acquisitions and strategic investments in mainly technology companies. Isaac was a co-founder of BCX, one of Africa’s leading technology companies, and currently serves as an independent NED of CrossFin Technologies, a Fintech investment holding company. Isaac is Chairman of Bothomed which is currently a shareholder with the PIC in the listed Dischem Pharmacies Limited. He is also a member of the Black Management Forum, the Electronics Industries Federation of South Africa, the Black Information Technology Forum and non-executive deputy chairman of the Catholic Education Investment Company. He is the Trustee of his Alma Mater Christian Brother’s College – Kimberley.

The newly appointed directors will bring a richness and diversity of skills to augment the Board in its leadership of the business and Exxaro’s 2026 strategy. We are pleased to have them on the Board and look forward to their contribution.

23 May 2018

ABSA Bank Limited (acting through its Corporate and Investment Banking division)